Under federal and state law, employers must pay at least the minimum wage. Under federal law, the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. In California, the statewide minimum wage is either $11 or $12 per hour depending on the number of employees. There are cities that have instituted a higher minimum wage as well. For example, in Los Angeles, the minimum wage is $13.25 per hour.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) govern overtime laws. Under the act, an employee must receive overtime pay for any hours worked over 40 hours in a given work week or more than 8 hours in a work day. The exception is if their job duties qualify them as “exempt” from overtime provisions. The overtime pay rate is 1.5 times the employee’s regular hourly rate.
To help prove your case, it is important you document the violations (copy of paystubs, time cards, emails talking about pay, etc). Of course there will be times when this is not possible, but remember the more evidence you have, the more it will help your case!
If you are not being paid the minimum wage or have not been paid overtime, your employer may be in violation of state or federal laws and you may be entitled to damages. Contact Employ Justice Legal Group for your free consultation today!
3055 WILSHIRE BLVD.
SUITE 1120 LOS ANGELES, CA 90010
Employment attorney in Los Angeles, California
3055 Wilshire Blvd #1120,
Los Angeles, CA 90010, USA
Call: +1 213-382-2222